Regrouping for NaNoWriMo

Shield-Nano-Blue-Brown-RGB-HiResI’ve been struggling. But I already told you that. As I was twiddling my thumbs over my keyboard this month, I made a decision: I was going to give myself permission to focus on other ideas until November, otherwise known as National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).

I’ve been taking some time to think about where the story is going. What will be the catalyst to get Caleb and Audra together? Well, I got a little bit of inspiration from the weather.

Here in New England our later-summer/early-fall is often plagued by hurricanes. Just a few short years ago our coast lines were pummeled by Hurricane Sandy. Before that Hurricane Irene left me without power for days. I happened to be on Cape Cod in late September, and for a week before our weathermen were trying to figure out whether some storm or other was going to hit us. Luckily it turned out to sea, but it got me thinking. What happens to the people on Nantucket or Block Island when a Hurricane comes through? Turns out, the islands–rather predictably–take a beating.

So, during NaNoWriMo I will be figuring out how a storm can bring a couple together.

One thought on “Regrouping for NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

